Factory Plans is a BBB Accredited Auto Warranty Service in Plainwell, MI
Guarantee Lowest Prices
Ford Protect  Lincoln Protect

Ford|Lincoln Protect ESP Vehicle Eligibility Requirements

When can I purchase a New or Pre-Owned Ford Protect Extended Service Plan (Ford ESP)? What are the eligibility requirements?

For Vehicles with Less than the Original Factory Warranty

All new vehicle Ford|Lincoln Protect ESP that provide mechanical coverage can be purchased within the original factory warranty limitations, either the 3 years and 36,000 miles for Ford and Mercury vehicles, or 4 years and 50,000 miles for Lincoln vehicles. If you buy a new Ford Protect Extended Service Plan after one or two years of purchasing the vehicle, a surcharge may be applied to the total cost. Convenience and Maintenance Plans may be purchased at any time.

For Vehicles Past the Original Factory Warranty

Vehicles not covered by the original factory warranty may also qualify for a Ford|Lincoln Protect Extended Service Plan. A Used Vehicle Inspection Form must be completed by any authorized Ford or Lincoln Dealer Service Center, however, prior to purchasing the used extended warranty. To download the Used Vehicle Protection Form, please see our Document Library.

For Vehicles with An Active Ford ESP Plan

Vehicles currently covered by an active Ford|Lincoln Protect ESP plan that will expire soon are also eligible for additional Ford|Lincoln Protect ESP plan coverage. During the quote process, simply indicate that your vehicle's “Basic Factory Warranty has Expired” and you will be directed to available Ford Extended Service Plans that start from the purchase date of the warranty.

IMPORTANT: You will want to wait until your current contract is close to expiring based on years or miles, as the extension contract supersedes the active contract on the purchase date. When extending an active contract, a vehicle inspection is not required.

For a complete list of vehicles eligible for Ford|Lincoln Protect Extended Service Plans see the Eligible Vehicle Index in the Document Library.

Ineligible Models

Acura: NSX
Audi: A8, A8L, R8, R9, R20, RS6, RS7, RS Q8, S8, SQ7, SQ8
BMW: 6 Series, 7 Series, 8 Series, M Series, Alpina, i8, Z8
Cadillac: V Series, XLR
Chevrolet: Camero ZL1, Corvette 427, Corvette Z06, Corvette ZR1
Dodge: Stealth, Viper
Ford: Any performance modified vehicle assembled by dealer or customer (not directly ordered from Ford); examples include but not limited to: Roush, Hennessey, Saleen, Shelby, Foose, GT, Transit Connect Electric
Honda: Civic Natural Gas, Fuel Cell X Clarity
Jaguar: XJ Series, XK Series
Lexus: F, GS-F, LF-A, RC F
Mercedes-Benz: AMG, CL Class, EQC, G Class. Kompressor, S Class, SL Class, SLR Class
Nissan: GT-R
Volkswagon: Phaeton, Any Model with W12 Engine
Any other vehicle with fuel cells

Ineligible Usage

Performance Modified Vehicles (including Hennessy)
4x2 Equipped Vehicles Modified for 4x4/AWD Capabilities
Vehicles Used for Competitive Driving, Racing, Off-Road Use
Vehicles with a Voided Warranty, Branded Title, Salvaged Title
Fuel Cell Vehicles
Incomplete Vehicles (Examples: Chassis Cabs, Cutaways, Stripped Chassis) except Ford, Chevrolet, Dodge, GMC, Nissan and Toyota
Any other vehicles not specifically referenced in the Vehicle Index